imogenwilsonjewellery

Walk with me, every step of the way as i try to grow my teeny craft business into something sustainable… watch this space!

The Kitchen Conundrum

Leave a comment

Time management is hard for everyone, especially if you are self employed and working from home. So many distractions at your fingertips, be them “work” related like Pinterest *ahem*, computers, TV’s or kitchens to tempt us…

We’ve all been there, when we’re at home for too long, we inevitably will end up in the kitchen. You ALL know what I am talking about.

It could be because you’re bored or maybe procrastinating. You get up from what you’re doing and before you know it you are standing in front of the fridge, you aren’t really hungry but it’s there… so you open the door. You stare for a while, close the door. Maybe you open it again, convincing yourself you are hungry, maybe you actually pull something out to eat (even though you aren’t hungry). Maybe you actually ARE hungry and you’re there for a purpose… but when you are home for long periods of time you always end up at the fridge, it just seems to be human nature.

When I became self employed the prospect of working from home (literally from home as that is where my studio is located) worried me far more than working for myself. Of the many fears I had the one I couldn’t shake was the fear of ending up in front of the fridge, every day. I have always loved food, food and I have a good relationship… I like to eat it and it likes me to be eaten by me- win, win.  I mean food! What’s not to love? As long as I can remember I had been as beholden to random trips to the fridge as the next person… so what would it be like being home, just me and the fridge, all the time. Would I need a poking stick by the end of the first month?

"The fingers you have used to dial are too fat. To obtain a special dialing wand please mash the key pad with your palm now"

“The fingers you have used to dial are too fat. To obtain a special dialing wand please mash the key pad with your palm now”

Luckily for me all the little bits and pieces whizzing through my head as a newly self employed person makes my mind wander, which (so far) has taken the power my stomach had over my feet away. Instead I find myself standing in the kitchen not knowing why I am there. Our kitchen and lounge are connected and open plan style so I will often go to the lounge to get something I have left there and find myself standing in the kitchen with no idea why I’m there. I’ll notice the bench needs a wipe and before you know it the kitchen is clean, or I’ve started the dishes and lost half an hour. Not once have a stood in front of the fridge though… staring blankly into space… not yet…

What is it about the kitchen that draws us in? We know the contents of the fridge have not changed in the last hour… and yet we go back, again and again…

For now, I am thankful that my full, forgetful brain seems to be giving me a break from eating everything in sight… or maybe it’s that as a newbie to self employed life I don’t have that much money to buy food so I can list the contents of my fridge on one hand, subconsciously, and know without getting up that if I succumbed to the above ‘kitchen conundrum’ I would end up eating mustard off a spoon… not a snack I relish*… yeah, that must be it…

Not what i had in mind when i got married, or started working from home... also luckily not at all what i look like cleaning... or ever...

Not what i had in mind when i got married, or started working from home… also luckily not at all what i look like cleaning… or ever…

*Or relish off a spoon. This is a no condiment off a spoon house. Yuck.

Leave a Reply

